krotuno.blogg.se

Depeche mode songs of faith and devotion album cover
Depeche mode songs of faith and devotion album cover











In fact they shaped who I was and am more than anything else in high school or college. Electronic pioneers that have influenced bands like Nine Inch Nails, The Killers, Muse, Marilyn Manson and The Deftones among many others. There’s just something other worldly about it like it just kicked into gear and never kicked out.A: DM is my all-time favorite band. To date, while Gahan’s voice still sounds as good as ever, “Condemnation” is possibly the best vocal performance he has given yet. All of the band members have commented on how they didn’t like making this album but yet the results are entirely cohesive work that is as amazing today as when it was first released in 1993. By the end of the recording process, Alan Wilder had already decided he was leaving the band and Dave Gahan was deep into a heroin addiction that would nearly claim his life on a couple of occasions. Drug addiction, depression, creative conflicts. In terms of the band, they were falling apart. It’s still the same car but it had a different character to it. Like the bright shiny car that was Violator Depeche Mode had gone off the road and gotten covered in mud and gunk. There is plenty of technology at work but there’s something dirty about it.

depeche mode songs of faith and devotion album cover

For Songs… they wanted a looser feel and that’s probably why it grabs me more than other Depeche Mode albums.

depeche mode songs of faith and devotion album cover

In terms of recording, the band had felt that their last effort had been very slick and programmed. Knowing what I know about the band during this period, it makes sense that Songs… is the album I gravitate to the most. Except for the God in this gospel isn’t always there. There are peaks, valleys, trips into hell and paths to redemption. Like one of those books, you hear conspiracy theories about that The Vatican has locked up somewhere. The first three tracks really lend to that idea, especially “Condemnation.” But then again, you go into a slightly different direction with the following track of “Mercy in You” and then followed up by “Judas.” I guess, to me at any rate, Songs of Faith and Devotion feels like a musical version of one of the books of The Gospel, but not a book that we’ve ever read. It’s kind of a gospel album with an alternative rock feel but that doesn’t quite do it justice.

#DEPECHE MODE SONGS OF FAITH AND DEVOTION ALBUM COVER HOW TO#

I’m never quite sure how to explain Songs… to people who have only ever heard early Depeche Mode. Eventually, a video came to be for “Walking in My Shoes” and then “Condemnation” sold me on the deal and the album was bought. While I loved the first single, I needed more to confirm it was okay to like this album. These were also the same sisters who had loved Duran Duran a few years prior so, between all of these things, I had just decided that they were some synth band that girls liked and no self-respecting, music loving boy would have anything to do with them.īut this… this “I Feel You”… this was pretty awesome. Maybe I was a tad too young, maybe it was because every older sister of people I knew who had older sisters LOVED Violator. And then the title and band key came up at the bottom of the screen.ĭepeche Mode? Weren’t they the skinny guys with short haircuts who couldn’t get enough?įor whatever reason, I had completely slept through the release of Violator.

depeche mode songs of faith and devotion album cover

It didn’t hurt that actress Lysette Anthony, who appeared in the video, wasn’t hard on the eyes either. There was something hypnotic about the guitar sound. This longer haired guy is talking to the VJ and I’m not really paying attention until the video starts and the guitar scratch/noise begins and just draws my attention enough into the video. I was home, watching Much Music, I think it was March break or I was sick because I was home on a week day. Simple truth is, I didn’t really get into Violator until Songs of Faith and Devotion had claimed me as a fan but when I dug a little deeper into the making of Songs… it kind of makes sense why I gravitate towards that album more than a lot of others in the Depeche Mode catalog. Violator is the album with “Personal Jesus” on it. Violator was the album cover that adorned the t-shirts or some older cute girls at school. Violator is the album that gets name checked by critics and fans a like. What may be throwing some readers off is the fact that it’s not Violator and it’s Songs of Faith and Devotion.Īnd I can understand that confusion. You look at my age and look at the other albums I’ve covered so far, and Depeche Mode makes sense. Depeche Mode is probably a given for this collection of 52 albums. This is probably another album choice that may have some people slightly scratching their heads.











Depeche mode songs of faith and devotion album cover